h1

Official Blog: Short but good!

July 8, 2009
Posted by: gruso

checklist400
Some promising news from our favourite Dragon. If you live near DaveC, buy that man a beer!

Hi folks! You’ve been waiting for the weekly report, haven’t you? Well, I’ve been very very busy with various things, so I coldn’t catch up with everything until now. And I’ve got some short but really good news for you:

Dave finished every single step which was on the ToDo-List of the case!

This does mean, that the case moulding could start REALLY soon. We’re currently waiting for a review from the company – and will tell you more about the status as soon as we get some more information!

Oh, on a side note, most parts for the boards have arrived in Dallas (95%). This means that mass production for the full 4000 run can most probably start as soon as we give them a green light (which means: After we tested the 105 boards).

Source

35 comments

  1. Yes! Go Pandora Go!


  2. Beer isn’t good for you, Give him an A&W Root Beer Float!
    YES, that is VERY good!


  3. Right after I order an asus eee pc to bide time the pandora looks extremely close to final production! LOL i guess that’s life… Go Pandora!!!


  4. ebay will be your best friend, brandon…


  5. Oh, the things I have bought this year.😆


  6. Kloplop, I believe you’ve been terribly misinformed😮

    I’m still praying for a delivery by Xmas…


  7. I think that you are just not very enthused! This thing was supposed to be my birthday present OVER a year ago!(all funds went to this) So I still have nothing. I want my investment soon!


  8. yay updates! om nom =O =| =O =|


  9. Sweet my friends sweet.🙂

    The gp2x is geting pushed to it limits so I need an upgrade.


  10. light at the end of the tunnel


  11. MOAR!!!!!! OMMM NOM NOM OMMM NOM NOM


  12. Yeah! Its coming!
    I guess it will be ready in 2 month?


  13. Not to rain on your parade or anything, but ‘mould production could start soon’ means ‘there is a possibility of producing a tool we need to build the final product’. That is a FRIGGING long way from ‘the pandora is being produced’.

    Don’t drink the Kool Aid. It’s going to be 2010 before this thing is coming. And by that time it’s going to be outdated.


  14. @ Empi

    the cases themselves only take one day to produce
    the mould takes 30
    and the extra 15 is for checking the fit

    disclaimer: i think


  15. Not sure about that 30/15 split (you could be right), in any case it’s supposed to be 45 days max – so it’s close enough. Once the moulds are done, they can bash out the cases by the hundreds.

    Empi’s first paragraph is correct though. The factory will start the tooling (aka the mould) when they get the go ahead, but that hasn’t happened just yet. That might happen tomorrow or next week. Either way, the completion of Dave’s work is one of the big pieces of news we’ve been waiting for. Hardly the time to start drowning in pessimism.

    Show me the product that will make Pandora obsolete, and I’ll buy it for you.


  16. Even it the thing gets released in 2010, it’ll still be the only piece of hardware in its market segment. There wont be a similar product for a long, long time. Outdated hardware does not equal less success. The Nintendo DS is a perfect example of that.

    Anyways, glad to hear that the project has taken another step in the right direction. Hopefully we all get the thing before summer is over, or at least before the end of December so we can launch fireworks with our Pandora’s by then. Or maybe even summon a little baby Jesus…🙂


  17. I have to admit my patience is still being tried by the delays, but the alternatives just aren’t there yet. I haven’t seen anything on the horizon which fills the gap of pocketable gaming console with mini-laptop powers.

    If there was an alternative, I might have jumped ship, alond with plenty of others.

    Anyway, more good news for us, google announces Chrome OS:

    The Chrome OS will run on both x86 and ARM architectures, uses a Linux kernel with a new windowing system. According to Google, ‘For application developers, the web is the platform. All web-based applications will automatically work and new applications can be written using your favorite web technologies. And of course, these apps will run not only on Google Chrome OS, but on any standards-based browser on Windows, Mac and Linux thereby giving developers the largest user base of any platform.

    The more ARM goodness the better!


  18. Outdated?! I want a pandora to play old games on. I couldn’t give a shit if it’s outdated.


  19. Cheers to Dave for finishing the D-pad.🙂


  20. we’ve waited so long, I’ve pretty much resigned myself to waiting as long as it takes. I’m with Withered, even if it got out dated, it will still be awesome with an awesome community behind it, and I’d rather it be right the first time.

    Even with the crazy delays and all the other downers we’ve gone through, I can’t help but be very excited about the finish line nearing, even with the voice in the back of my head saying “its still 2 months, just like its always been, don’t get your hopes up” – guess I’m a hopeless fanboy🙂


  21. Outdated?! I want a pandora to play old games on. I couldn’t give a shit if it’s outdated.


  22. Good job Dave🙂
    I’m looking forward to test the results !


  23. LOL.. Outdated.. Love that one Gazetna. Almost fell out of my seat.. How true is that. People seem so concerned about the outdated factor. I guess I am more practical. I want the Pandora mostly for the emulation, organizer and music player attributes. I am not worried about what it might not be able to do in the future as much as what it can do for me right now.


  24. How long will it take to test the 105 boards.


  25. Well, it’s always good to hear about progress.

    It’s still a long way off, but better that the case is finished than that it’s not finished.


  26. Outdated?! I want a pandora to play old games on. I couldn’t give a shit if it’s outdated.


  27. Shouldn’t the production of the 100 test boards have started by now? Is there anything holding that back?


  28. When does the other 5% of the components for the boards arrive? Or is it like taking apart and rebuilding a car – there’s always spare parts left over but they weren’t important (so we can start building the boards without them)?


  29. When will the Open Pandora be released officially? Is there a date already? Having followed the blog for quite some time, it seems to me that they arrived in the final stage working on the minor todo’s.😉


  30. From my estimate let’s say production starts next week, and there is 45 days for the case mold to be made. I would have to say any shipping of a production Pandora will take place after September 15, 2009 or early October at the latest.


  31. Estimate? Why the fuck would you make an estimate? Every single estimate that anyone has made on anything so far has been incorrect or yet to be proven


  32. You are correct about that, so the only true answer I can give is when you actually have the Pandora in your hands that is proof its real. Other than that it does not exist.

    At the end of the day, when the unit does ship it will be 1 year late.


  33. id bet further than that


  34. Whoops, I gotta apologize, I guess. I didn’t want it to come out that negatively.

    It’s good news, and I’m still clinging to my order, no matter what.🙂


  35. Yes, this is good news. Now if they will just stop with the stupid sh*t like polling for what to do with the first 100… You don’t need to take a poll, just do what you told people you would – ship the first 100 to the first 100 people who paid. Geesh.



Comments are closed.

