h1

Update from EvilDragon

June 11, 2009
Posted by: gruso

A lengthy update from ED, posted in the forums.

The boards are being tested – and looking at the posts I saw from Michael and craig, the last MK seems to be error-free so the mass production could start soon.

I do know for sure that there were some minor changes to the keymat (so that keys feel better, etc.) and the new model data has been submitted to the company, so this is all good. I also fixed the borked keyboard layout (you remember some misaligned keys) weeks ago, so this is also fine.

Boards: OK
Keymats: OK

Now onto the case:
I know there are still some changes made. I don’t know exactly what. We all do know the hinge should change, though I guess that’s already done since the hole just has do be done a bit bigger smile.gif Also the DPad will slightly change so that horizontals do work better. Then there will be some minor changes here and there to make the board fit better (it won’t help you if everything breaks if you accidentally drop the Pandora).

Dave is currently working on the case – so here’s a big YAY and THANKS to DaveC for his work so far. I (and I also guess the community) absolutely appreciate the work on the case, it looks so good already🙂
The company who does the case also offered us to check and fix minor errors when they get the board, etc. from us. And they also do know what they’re doing, as they do stuff like this since years🙂

Whether or not this does lead to another CNC is something I don’t know yet, that’s what I’d like to talk about with Craig and Michael. They seem to be pretty confident on July, so they sure are up to something I don’t know yet🙂

Remember that our top priority is still that even the first unit will NOT have such flaws as the GP2X First Edition had. We want to ensure that you’ll all be confident – even if we risk some guys jumping off the project by causing delays with some changes.

That one poll where most of you selected to wait for the Pandora until it’s ready (regardless how long is take) did show us we’re on the right way by making the system perfect. And we all do appreciate and thank you for being with us🙂

I hope that does clear some stuff up🙂

Source

21 comments

  1. Cool. Glad to hear the update.


  2. Yay good newz, I’m still waiting for the 2nd batch because i havent been able to afford one yet. But its nice that its gonna be ready soon


  3. I’m glad to be getting updates like this, it’s very informative. I only wish I had the cash to get some from the first batch! Oh well, I’ll be waiting with my savings for the 2nd =)


  4. Good news ED! You always give the best updates.


  5. Not sure how this is going to work out if the case molds haven’t started being made yet…
    I’ve been hoping for a while that they’ve had the molds being made already and have just been waiting to spring good news on us. If not,
    june 11th + 30 days + assembly + shipping to England could _potentially_ be done by the end of July, but that’s pretty optimistic.
    How much you wanna bet that the “fixes” the chinese guys do cause delays?

    Seriously though, cynicism aside, this update is much much appreciated and I’ll probably reread it over and over until the next update.
    Cheers, ED! Thanks for taking the time to talk to us!


  6. YES for the update. I was feeling deprived for a while🙂


  7. Yes, great news!

    It’s also good to hear once more that the utmost attention is given to the D-pad. With all these Netbooks and All-Purpose-Phones being released these days, the Pandora will surely rise or fall depending on its gaming controls…


  8. “Whether or not this does lead to another CNC is something I don’t know yet, that’s what I’d like to talk about with Craig and Michael.”
    Always find a bit of humor in this, you think the answer would be a phone call away before making the post.
    Not a rant, just an observation.

    Thanks for the update, gets me very excited.


  9. Thanks to ED and Gruso for posting. When I see a post that says ‘All case parts have been ordered’ I will get really excited. Hopefully that will be soon.


  10. Come on this is really good news! Think about it. Essentially the Pandora is 100% done. The actual heart and soul that our beast consist of is complete and now their just working on its atheistic.


  11. Yay, Im happy I made that topic now, although many people were angry for just another “I beg for info” topic.


  12. *gasp*

    http://www.gp32x.com/board/index.php?showtopic=48230&view=findpost&p=733775

    EDIT: Just getting more informations. Will do an updated blog post for you tomorrow!😀

    Wheeeeeeeeeeee!


  13. And I thought the final mainboards have already been ordered, hm


  14. @kollau

    i was under that impression also, that may have been a misreading of a post and i cant be bothered to go back and check.

    @Soulkiller

    i dont think we could say its “essentially” 100% done since the mainboard hasnt been manufactured, the case has not been signed off as complete (from that we can reasonably assume that either the majority or a substantial part is still to be manufactured).


  15. Read the post. The board is in its final version now. It has even been tested. Now they’re 100% ready to start mass production of the board! W00t!

    Minor changes are only being made to the case, to make it fit better, and the dpad, to make it feel better. It’s all good😀


  16. Craig said a week ago that “A bigger run is about to happen, the boards from this run will be used in final consoles.” But I don’t think it was said that mass production of boards had actually started. Rest assured that when that news comes, this blog will be shouting it loudly.😉


  17. @gruso

    i have no doubt we will all be shouting loudly. I would say that the words “about to happen” does not in my world equate to one week passing by and i’m a stoner (read doing anything takes quite some time to even get off my arse and start). However things are moving and we are hearing about it somehow


  18. Any news is good news! Hope everything turns up to be OK; so take your time and give the world a good product. Good luck!


  19. Guess I messed it up with this (https://openpandora.wordpress.com/2009/04/19/twitter-update-final-boards-ordering-this-week/) news and some others about parts being mass produced while waiting for the case.


  20. @kollau

    i think thats what made me think the boards were underway. i dont think i can believe a word anyone says about this product anymore.


  21. /cheerOnPandoraTeam

    You guys are doing a good job. Keep up the work😉
    *tearful and exuberant thumbs Up*



Comments are closed.

