h1

Sonic Robo Blast 2 sneaks in quietly

May 22, 2009
Posted by: gruso

srb2
This isn’t so much an announcement, as a passing comment that’s been mined from the forums and blown up into a big colourful blog post. Just look at those colours. Don’t pretend they don’t take you back to a better place. Word from the Wiz quarter is that Sonic Robo Blast 2 is now running on both Wiz and Pandora, courtesy of – you guessed it – Pickle. A suitably fast paced video (of the PC version) awaits you after the break.

Source

17 comments

  1. first!!! woot!!!…. and sonic induces seizures with all them pretty colors, and now we can get a version that’s portable… oh hell yea… think of the possibilites😉


  2. This is awsome. I saw this video somewhere before (as i am a big sonic fan) but having this on my Pandora is going to be Great.


  3. I remember playing this game. I also remember it had very shitty controls.


  4. just had to post (first comment/post ever on anything pandora related)
    But seriously is Pickle a GOD or what?
    We owe alot of cred to Pickle for getting so many of these ports done.

    Everytime I see a story in my RSS reader about the pandora and it’s games, more often than not it’s because Pickle was behind it.
    Great work Pickle, what you’ve done so far is amazing!

    And yes, this comment was just to rant about Pickle and his awesomeness.


  5. Pickle! If I were a girl, I’d love to have your babies! Though male pregnancy might be possible, so…😛

    Now, seriously, thanks a lot Pickle for all your efforts. Very, very appreciated.


  6. Ofcourse thanks to pickle for getting so many ports done, but somehow I don’t see the point in most of these ports:

    I completed most of those games or they are graphicly and audio wise unimpressive for todays standard – I just can’t see those Doom based games anymore, sorry😦

    I wish we had more up-to-date things like Warsow which are still fun to play and provide excellent gameplay, even after having them completed multiple times.

    I’m not saying that this game is bad, but I won’t play it because of the appearance I think. I looked around and found some 3D models for sonic atleast, but hey –

    looking at the gameplay, this could be MUCH MORE if it was build on an more up-to-date engine.

    It might be because I’m sorta graphics programmer after all😛


  7. Yeah, bloody programmers.😛

    Don’t forget that the GP32X community has its roots in retro gaming. In a way this is a title that combines two very different retro eras.🙂


  8. Looks better than any of the recent Sonic games if you ask me.

    It sort of looks how Sonic Adventure would have been on the Saturn. Why they never released a proper Sonic game on the Saturn is a bit of a mystery come to think of it!


  9. You guys need to realize this game got started back in 1998. There were like only two open source doom engines back then. I agree right now that it could use a modern doom engine, but it is way too late for that now.

    Also, can you explain why you feel the controls suck?

    The current default controls on the PC aren’t great, that is being changed to what every other FPS does in the next version of SRB2.

    By the way, the next version will have lots of new textures, enemies, new levels, and rewamped multiplayer.

    Don’t judge the game on its looks. Try it out at least. You know the saying “Don’t judge a book by its cover”. It applies here.

    I am an administrator on the SRB2MB and a private beta tester there. Any comments are taken seriously. Thanks for all of the comments guys.


  10. Awesome. Thats the only word I can think of.


  11. This game is so cool, best sonic fangame! Thanks Pickle!


  12. Thanks Pickle!

    Love this game.


  13. I played Sonic Robo Blast 2 a long time ago. With its ugly graphics, sloppy controls, and abundance of mediocre jumping puzzles, I’d give it a rating of “way the hell better than any 3D Sonic game after SA2.” Seriously, in spite of its problems, its fun, and feels more in the spirit of classic 2D Sonic games than recent 3D games (or even the Rush games) have.


  14. Pickle, you are indeed an awesome and dedicated dev. Keep up the good work with all your ports and many thanks. This game does bring back memories.. Couldn’t get hang of this game until after about 2 months of play


  15. Nice one pickle keep’em coming, the more the merrier. Just need craigx to finish the pandora so we can play the dam things🙂


  16. I’d like a shooting gallery with Sonic as a target.


  17. My son, despite being primarily interested in co-op play, is a big SONIC fan (happily some SONIC games do have a co-op mode). On seeing this video the first thing he had to say was that he was sad that he wasn’t getting a Pandora too🙂



Comments are closed.

