h1

German Evil Dragon Interview

April 9, 2009
Posted by: Butterman

BackAssward came across an interview on the German forums, relating to the case. It’s been hastily translated by Spirit and dflemstr on the forums.  I decided to use Spirits, it flowed more freely, dflemstrs translation is here. Thanks to both of them!

Flyn: Hi ED. I just wanted to ask, what where those minor changes you had to do on the case? Seems like they were a bit more extensive?
EvilDragon: No, nothing more extensive, why? A few more holes and a few different measurements.

Flyn: Holes? You mean the places for adapters and such?
EvilDragon: No, those fit perfectly. The holes for the hinge, the cables etc. Things where 0.5 mm matter.

Flyn: Ah yes, that flat cable seems very sensitive.
EvilDragon: No, actually it isn’t. Mine just went through a lot because of the congress etc. It never was fixed [as in fixed on its place]. It had problems calibrating [I have no idea what is meant] (started after GC and went worse). But then the LCD was not fixed either and thus put some strain on said cable. That is not how it is meant to be.

See the rest after the break!

Flyn: You change your day job, how did that affect your daily routine? Can you finally sleep at night because you work on the Pandora during the day?
EvilDragon: No, the other way around. I have more stuff to do. I now get booked instead of working full-time.
Meaning: If I got no time (eg if I have to do a lot for the Pandora or once the shipping starts or for congresses), I don’t have to ask for a holiday anymore but can simply say that I am not available.
This does not mean I got less work to do. It’s just as much as before just more flexible. Actually it is a bit more since I want to improve the shop.

Flyn: Do you order the final cast model from the manufacturer now (with the corrections) or will you get another CNC?
EvilDragon: I don’t know, probably a CNC is in progress.

Flyn: Will you developers get new CNC cases once again? I mean, that would cost even more money that was not calculated before.
EvilDragon: Nope and it’s not like I needed one.

Source

Original Interview

3 comments

  1. saw this on the german blog one. Thanks for the translation Spirit


  2. ” Flyn: Do you order the final cast model from the manufacturer now (with the corrections) or will you get another CNC?
    EvilDragon: I don’t know, probably a CNC is in progress.

    Flyn: Will you developers get new CNC cases once again? I mean, that would cost even more money that was not calculated before.
    EvilDragon: Nope and it’s not like I needed one.”

    Wait, are they ordering new CNCs or not?


  3. There will be one more CNC case for the CE testing I believe; but even ED doesn’t know for sure. There won’t be one new CNC case for every developer, though.



Comments are closed.

