h1

Update from EvilDragon

February 15, 2009
Posted by: TaG

Latest update from EvilDragon (translation).

Boxing may come, but not necessarily🙂

I definitely want to make a manual – even if only as PDF version🙂

The planned delivery date is 4-6 weeks after beginning of mass production, that will start after CE and FCC is made, which will be made after the CNC case is available🙂

Right now we are trying to hurry on the Chinese producers of the CNC case, because some work has been slowed down by the Chinese New Year;)

We hope we will know more in the next week and maybe even get the case.

Original Source Source

In mali’s words – So in short this means April/May.

9 comments

  1. Lets assume:
    – Arrival of CNC Case about 2 weeks
    – CE and FCC take about 2 weeks
    – Mass production 4 weeks
    Makes it somewhere between april and may, but then again, I would bet that I don’t have mine at the beginning of may


  2. Wouldn’t it be awesome to get Pandora in November as originally promised (just one year later🙂 ).

    Any other delivery date will be just lame, but exactly one year later would make my day.


  3. Well I’m sure if you ask nicely they’ll hold onto yours till November and ship it out to you then😛


  4. See, this is the sort of stuff that irritates people.

    Craigix on the OpenPandora home page :
    “* Final production and delivery: approx. 2 – 4 weeks later [after the CNC Prototype is made]”

    EvilDragon :
    “The planned delivery date is 4-6 weeks after […]CE and FCC […], which will be made after the CNC case is available”

    Now there can’t possibly already be set-backs in something that hasn’t even started yet, Craigix was just being unreasonably optimistic and trying to tell people what they wanted to hear. Sure, that made us happy THEN, but it just makes things worse in the long run.

    And they’ve been doing it the whole time. The time from *NOW* to delivery is greater than the time from the original pre-order to the original ship-date. They couldn’t possibly have made that regardless of all the set-backs they had.

    I’m willing to be patient, but these obviously wrong progress updates from Craigix are driving me crazy.

    I’m glad EvilDragon is on the project, because he seems to be the only one who is willing to give us straight talk about the progress.


  5. Andy L: All we’re seeing is a progress update. Yes, the time frame has been pushed a little further, but I don’t think there’s a conflict in the information. We knew when they posted that mini-roadmap (on the OP home page) that it was flexible. We also knew that Chinese New Year could affect the CNC time.

    Also, I think you’ll find that they’re ED’s words on the OP home page.

    The only real difference between the two quotes you provided are the words “and delivery”. It’s a difference in wording, not a difference in the plan. We always knew that there would be a number of weeks between mass production and delivery. Apply the numbers to both quotes, and the information is the same: mass production -should- begin 2 to 4 weeks after the CNC arrives.


  6. @AndyL: exactly the reasons why I cancelled my order eventhough I already re-ordered. A lot of people refuse to face it and are being blind (it’s probably Love…) but it’s pretty clear: the team deliberatly lied. There was never a chance they could have released the Pandora before the end of december. Even without the bank problems. This was just a massive lie to keep people happy. And I’m not talking about conspiracy here.

    Oh, and I’d be curious to know how much money they made with the deposits (talking about interesets here). Well, my £200 went straight back to my savings account and I’ll buy a pandora when the pandora actually exists.


  7. My post specifically avoided discussing anything that happened before the CNC prototype was finished. So the Chinese new year doesn’t enter into it.

    “It’s a difference in wording, not a difference in the plan. ”
    Perhaps, But even so, that makes for a very serious difference in implication.

    “I think you’ll find that they’re ED’s words on the OP home page.”
    Could be. If so, then I apologies to Craigix.

    Like, I said, I’m happy to be patient, but it’s no surprise that people are getting angry, optimistic early estimates will do that. (real or implied.)

    -Andy


  8. TT Said : “the team deliberatly lied. There was never a chance they could have released the Pandora before the end of december”
    We don’t know for sure that it was deliberate. It could simply have been unjustified optimism and poor planning. (ie: Never sitting down and realisticly figuring out the entire sequence of events.)

    It’s a pretty natural human instinct to give an optimistic estimate to a group unhappy, impatient people.

    Accidental or deliberate it has, however, angered a lot of otherwise happy customers. And that’s my point. It’s very wrong to paint the angry people as unreasonable, their anger is a direct result of OpenPandora’s poor estimates.

    TT Said : “Oh, and I’d be curious to know how much money they made with the deposits (talking about interesets here). ”
    Probably none at all if they have to eat the AmEx orders. And even just the drop in the British Pound.

    TT Said : “Well, my £200 went straight back to my savings account and I’ll buy a pandora when the pandora actually exists.”
    That’s far too much effort. If Pandora is worth waiting for and buying, then it’s worth buying from the first batch. If I lose out on a few pennies of interest, then I can live with that.

    Remember everyone, we’re talking about a toy. And relatively small amount of money.


  9. Uhm… well, I just ordered mine last week; the confirmation mail came in today. But I’ve been following the project for quite a while now.

    In one of the emails, I was told that the unit might ship on March. Now I see it might take a little longer…

    I do understand people who are angry; they’ve been waiting for a long time already before the promised november / december release. But also keep in mind that almost every product in this category (electronic gaming devices) has delays… and worse, when the actual release date is rushed to an already expired deadline, the units are mostly defective.

    I guess that people who got the firsts PS2s or XBOXs (just to give an example) would’ve preferred to wait 5 months more than to get the buggy units some of them got at first… And those electronic devices came from giant corporations, not from independent developers!

    So, cheer up! You’re not alone waiting; one more guy is here waiting with you for the Pandora to come… It’ll be worth it, some way or another.



Comments are closed.

