h1

When?

January 20, 2009

Chip, whilst discussing the banking problems, makes this comment:

The final Pandora prototype with the CNC case will be put together within the next few weeks. If that goes well, we could see actual mass produced Pandoras rolling off the assembly line in less than two months.

It’s not exactly major news, but it kind of suggests late March is a possibility for things coming off the line. Which also suggests most people would hope to see their Pandora in April.

The banking discussion is worth a read too if you want to follow the link.

Source

19 comments

  1. GAH, April? Oh well. Here I was being optimistic and thinking I’d get my Pandora late February. Piss.


  2. Uhm april? When I read the roadmap I thought about late february, early march.
    I m a pretty relaxed person normally but this is going too far… If it won’t be here until june I m going to cancel my order I guess. I could have earned alot of money if I kept it on the bank.
    I m not saying its scam or anything, but its just planned badly, they should have waited with taking pre-orders until they were ready to go into production.


  3. Fcuk this, this is really pissing me off at times. I haven’t ordered from the first batch, but I need one from the second batch before / beginning of August, because i’m having a one-year trip then. Maybe I should think of a Wiz instead.


  4. JePP: don’t be too mad about it, I needed one for early march… Looks like it isn’t going to happen


  5. This is upsetting news. even without the banking problems it seems they really underestimated the timeline. 2 months? I seriously hope that he purposefully overestimated this time to avoid people fussing and that it’s the worst case scenario, but it sounds rather like it’s a best case.


  6. We should probably read that with care. He stated “in less than two months” for example. Anyway, I understand the angers,and disappointment, but well, don’t forget how incredibly small business this is. I see it as incredible that there actually are gonna be a Pandora after all, how cool ain’t that!?
    Also, I regret not ordering. Those who ordered (after reordering and such) can just sit back, relax and wait for the Pandora to appear on the doorstep. Cause it will eventually, just gotta have a little more patience guys.


  7. wow. Two months ? That’s a lot..


  8. Well said GuSec.


  9. Now I’ve read here that the second batch is supposed to be produced not in America, but in India (!) : http://forum.gp2x.de/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=6260&start=15
    (might be news worthy? I doubt many know this)

    that’s going to be a lot of fun!


  10. Yes he did say less than 2 months, but he could have said 6 weeks. Also the reason I said April for most is that if they are doing batches and then having to distribute them they have suggested before that that whole process will take a few weeks.


  11. i think chip should just stop making estimates he hasn’t discussed with the team or at least craig before. What he did there was plain bad style for a so called pr-guy.

    I for one don’t know what he’s trying to say there, might be anything from tomorrow till end of days. That’s what makes people mad and he should know that.
    Damn, do we need Einstein to calculate the release-date of Pandora? The whole relativity of the universe in the palm of your hands – maybe less then some weeks later then cut-off date, perhaps.


  12. As soon as money started getting invested in this then there needed to be a pro pr process for this. I can understand delays – they happen all the time but the way info is being distributed – at least 4 sources from what I can gather – and still no concrete release. I’m just relieved I didn’t put any money down.

    I truly hope this eventually comes out but my optimisim turned to pessimism to what the f??k a while ago.

    Why not just say summer 09? People will be pi££ed off for a while but at least it’s better then this.

    Surely?


  13. So where now looking at around late march instead of the end of feb😦

    I had a feeling the mini road map would be wrong and we’d miss another deadline yet again. Oh well suppose it can’t be helped. I’m hoping chip’s guess will be wrong although it could go either way. Lets just hope it’s earlier and not even later😦


  14. “Unofficial Estimated Release Date: 15th April ” <—😀


  15. Gotta keep the release date up-to-date😀


  16. Patience is a virtue and I got nothin to loose! Until they tell me I HAVE TO PAY!


  17. What happens to a dream deferred?

    Does it dry up
    like a raisin in the sun?
    Or fester like a sore–
    And then run?
    Does it stink like rotten meat?
    Or crust and sugar over–
    like a syrupy sweet?

    Maybe it just sags
    like a heavy load.

    Or does it explode?

    (hint: it explodes like this)
    GIVE ME THE PANDORA

    I NEED IT NOW- FOR THE THINGS, THE THINGS WHICH I NEED TO DO, YOU KNOW LIKE…. N64 DEVELOPMENT, IT DOESN’T WORK NOW BUT, BUT IT WILL SOON I THINK, AND BOB’S GAME, HE’S LOST HIS MIND NOW BUT HE CAN’T BE CRAZY FOR LONG

    quoted from wikipedia:

    the release grows proportionally to the current date.

    release date = ((insert current date) + a couple of months)

    By the time it is produced, we won’t be able to reorder because we will be dead, and apes will rule the planet.


  18. You maniacs! You blew it all up!


  19. If you read the smallprint you’ll find that what we’ve actually payed for is the drama of a never-ending development nightmare; there is no Pandora!

    It’s in the very small print or something…



Comments are closed.

