h1

New theme and other blog changes

January 10, 2009

I felt that the old theme was far too busy – so I’m currently trying out cleaner looks for the blog. In addition, I’m currently rearranging and changing some widgets, so things may looks slightly bizarre for a time, and the entire theme may change as I experiment. Please give your feedback and suggestions!

I should note that this isn’t the end of tweakage. If we can find a way to easily add a header graphic, that’d be great – note that we’d have to purchase the custom CSS upgrade for the blog.

In addition, what do people feel about removing the tag cloud? I felt it was redundant given that you can simply search them using the search bar.

EDIT: Has anyone else noticed how much faster the blog is now?๐Ÿ™‚

26 comments

  1. It’s looking good so far. Nice and blue… Use those fancy pandora renders to pretty the place up all pandora style. Maybe even make it so it works on the Pandora’s native resolution better, for the sake of it haha.

    Also, a big thank you to you and the other regular news writers. You guys are a godsend. What will happen to this place when the pandora is released?? PLEASE tell me you’re going to cover software/firmware/pandora related stuff? Similar to how pspupdates tracks psp homebrew scene for psps?


  2. it looks like the standard drupal-layout to me ^^

    eversmile is right, it might be better to switch to only one sidebar now and get rid of some rather unimportant widgets, so it will look better on small displays.


  3. I don’t know about mazza’s thoughts on this, but I’d have no problem continuing after release. It might be a bit more work, but that’d be ok.
    Also, love the new theme. Very Pandora-y. Is it possible to swap out the title text with a banner logo?


  4. Banner graphics are in the works.๐Ÿ˜‰


  5. Looks better =)
    Realy Cleaner


  6. I don’t like it.


  7. Is there a way to get rid of the ‘Possibly related posts’ section? It generates crap.


  8. Also, sorry about the double comment, but I don’t like the new theme too much. I think it is too soft and … playful? Granted, we are talking about a portable gaming device, but I think I’d personally prefer a more ‘technical’ looking theme.


  9. Like Eversmile asked, are you gonna still update this blog after release? Or will you be too busy playing Tomba 2 on PSX4Pand?


  10. I love the new one๐Ÿ™‚ though a tad darker would be nice for my eyes


  11. I like it. But I don’t love it. But as you are working on it that might change๐Ÿ™‚


  12. Note that although it look plain at the moment, a header graphic will improve it a lot. I’ll continue to tweak it based on suggestions throughout the next few days.

    And yes, I fully plan to keep the blog around after release, unless the dev team decide enough is enough and wish to take it over – in that case I’ll probably still be around but as an Author rather than Admin.


  13. Great site, keep working on it, always good to have a place to check for new stuff, even in the future when games and stuff are released. Sometimes it can be hard to check all forums around the net for latest news.


  14. hehe got a lot better after my first post๐Ÿ™‚


  15. It looks a lot better. I would also make the blue a little darker, but not too much.

    Anyway, I like it a lot, if you ask me.๐Ÿ™‚


  16. Hmm… This theme’s not bad – I’ve been avoiding fixed-width themes because they cause problem with images and don’t really use all the space.


  17. This new theme is mostly fine for me. It’s lite, simple and overall good looking. I don’t expect anything fancy from a blog anyway.

    The problem I could see though is that it doesn’t render nicely at 800px weight (the pandora screen resolution)…
    The whole page doesn’t fit in 800px, the link on the right are cut off. That’s the case for a lot of website and it shouldn’t cause much trouble. You could say it’s not really optimised for small screen though.
    The other problem is that there is little to no space between the text on the link and the window (screen) border. That will make it unpleasant to read on small device, and it just kind of look “bad”.

    BTW I just resized my firefox window to 800px wide to test this. There were just some suggestion, I am really happy with the blog otherwise. Keep the news coming๐Ÿ™‚


  18. I also tested it at 800px right after changing the theme, and I’m by and large happy with it. As long as you can read the entire posts, it’s fine – the links at the right are partially hidden so people do know they are there.


  19. I also miss a small margin on the left when vieweng the page at 800px width.

    Once solved, the blog will look perfect.


  20. Personally, I would like to see widgets, graphics, and sidebars kept to a minimum. I visit this place mainly when I am on the go (without a laptop or desktop), which means I am viewing from my Blackberry. All the extra stuff makes it take longer to both load and scroll. I think there are many users who are on the same boat.


  21. Very clean layout mazza.

    I sure hope we are going to continue with the blog after the Pandora is released, otherwise it’s like sitting down to eat your starter then being asked to leave as they start delivering the main course.

    After the initial go-live rush of news I would expect us to be writing some stuff rather than only ‘serving up’ news.


  22. Much better layout IMO. Other one was far to busy for my liking


  23. Now that I see the difference, it looks a bit plain. The moved tag cloud seemed to work well though.


  24. Much nicer. The old one had an ugly gradient at the top and all that. This one will be great once you add the header image (don’t forget the alt text) and make the comment box more blue.


  25. I think it’s perfect now. Zero clutter puts the focus on the news items. A header image will be the icing on the cake of course – you’re keeping me on my toes with the template changes.๐Ÿ˜› Stay tuned.


  26. Personally I find the font hard to read.



Comments are closed.

