h1

PPP – Plastic Pandora Prototype (unofficial)

January 8, 2009

Looks like the fans are moving faster than the developers these days! Forum user “lobo” has posted his plastic-mould prototype of the Pandora, and gives the rest of us some idea of how it feels.

He had this to say:

My initial impression was “Damn that’s small: it even fits in the back pocket of my jeans!” (closed of course), quickly followed by “Thank god it’s a clamshell or it wouldn’t last long in my back pocket!” biggrin.gif

When closed the dimensions are very similar to a GP2X, which somehow surprised me because when it’s open the case seems to be smaller somehow blink.gif

The analog nubs are placed to reach perfectly, which is good because I thought they would be a bit awkward to get to from the renders up to now. Bad thing is that my hands are slightly pressing on the first and last keys in the bottow row, although this shouldn’t be a problem if the keys aren’t overly sensitive.

I love the location of the power switch, since it is not possible to reach it by accident (not unlike my GP2X which is always freezing on me because I slightly touch the damn switch while playing mad.gif )

The keyboard itself does not feel very comfortable to be thumb-typing on i.e. while holding the device in your hands, though laid down on a table it’s great.

Big thanks to Clean3D for creating and publicly releasing the 3D model: I’ve been waiting for someone to do one for months now so I could prototype it and get a feel for the Pandora.

More pictures after the jump.

12 comments

  1. Oh wow.🙂 I love this community.


  2. man, this is just too good😀


  3. Wow! I always pictured it bigger than that! Now if only he!d spray paint it black…


  4. Excellent stuff!


  5. I’m glad to hear that the keybad should be comfortable with the Pandora on a table. I can’t wait to see how Quake goes on it using WASD & mouse.


  6. Wow, how did he know the dimensions? I thought those weren’t going to be released.


  7. @Username

    <blockquote cite=”Big thanks to Clean3D for creating and publicly releasing the 3D model: I’ve been waiting for someone to do one for months now so I could prototype it and get a feel for the Pandora.”

    This is all unofficial, but the dimensions have also been known for quite a while and can be found on the wiki and numerous places in the forum.


  8. Messed up that quote😦

    Stupid tags.


  9. Source: http://www.gp32x.com/board/index.php?showtopic=45943&st=45#


  10. Looks cool, can’t wait to get it in my hands, I’m glad the analogs placement feels good, I thought they would be to far to the center to reach comfortable.


  11. I hope the keyboard is enough confortable because i won’t use it a lot on a table..


  12. […] PPP – Plastic Pandora Prototype (unofficial) « (unofficial) OpenPandora Blog. […]



Comments are closed.

